How can we improve ShareGate Desktop?

Sync Options in the Migration Tool - Incremental Copy

For example, if a file has been deleted in the source after it had gotten copied over to SharePoint, can it be deleted in SharePoint?

The goal is to re-sync only the updates, additions and deletions without the need to copy the whole thing again. It allows to keep on using the source environment while keeping the destination one sync until we're ready to go live with the new site.

Applies to:
-users
-documents (move them to a different location if the user has moved it since the last update)
-content types
-columns
-terms

156 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Victor shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    25 comments

    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        While in the process of a long migration having sync jobs. Production resyncs to what will be production. Items added, modified, deleted and allows to use the existing env until we are ready to go live with the next.

      • AdminJean-Philippe Beaulieu (Voice of the Customer Manager, ShareGate) commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        As one of the earlier users of ShareGate, I agree that the product has certainly matured; and in my opinion, a market leader.

        In all of my content migrations, I've always faced one issue that none of the tools seem to address... content removal.

        Most migration projects are multi-phased... a trial to see "how bad will it be", some remediation, then the final migration.
        During this migration cycle, content is being added and removed from the source site.
        All of the migration tools can handle content addition, but not the content removal.

        I think a process to "syncronize" the content would be of value.

        This would require a different approach, driven by both the source and destination site:
        - run though the destination site looking back to the source site
        --- if found in the destination and not in the source, remove the content in the destination site
        --- if the content in the destination is older than the content in the source, refresh the destination site
        - run through the source site looking for new content which does not exist in the destination.
        --- if found in the source, copy the content over to the destination site

        Same logic should apply to groups and users.

        The problem we run into is a migration project which could last months...

        We remediate workflows, pages, and master pages to get the new site working properly.
        During this time period source content is added, changed and removed.
        We don't want to blow away the new destination sites, as we will lose our remediation work.
        Manually identifying destination content which should be removed is time consuming and prone to errors.

      • jherschel commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        I could use this as well, having the same issue as below user. I migrated site to the cloud, gave the department about a month to fix/tweak the new site, then did a copy if newer, however, there were files that the department deleted that were no longer needed and I copied them back over with copy if newer feature.

        I am working on migration of huge library with 55,000 (i know, Iknow, I tell users to keep things smaller, but they don't listen). So, since ShareGate does not have ability to delete files on destination between copy and 'copy if newer', I'll have to do a full Powershell export/import the day of to make sure my source and destination are exact copy

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        When I do my Migrations from on-prem to cloud I do the following
        1. Create Site and copy all the librarys users specify
        2. Have users test new site (few days to a few weeks)
        3. Do a "Copy if Newer" on alll Librarys.

        The Problem I have run into is that users move and rename files in during the step 2 waiting period. So when I do a "Copy if Newer" I get duplicates.

        So an option where I can Sync the Destination to look exactly like the source would be great

      • side commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Needed as well.
        When a project require testing and that testing takes time, we need to perform incremental migration meaning it shall add new documents, update existing documents AND delete documents that has been deleted from the source

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Bonjour,
        le copy-site avec copysettings (soit en incrémental) ne supprime pas les librairies et sous-sites supprimés dans la source. c'est un phénomène attendu ?
        merci
        Miguel-Angel Fernandez

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Introduce a functionality to automatically periodically migrate files from the same source (i.e. Library) to the same destination. Reason: After the initial migration of the site collection, users will continue using our intranet sites for a couple of weeks before moving to the cloud

      • jared.pauletto commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        I would love this feature! So helpful as we are testing before going live we would be able to do a fresh sync without having to fill the recycle bin at the designation. On large migrations this could fill the database fast.

      • Vincent T Nguyen commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        This is excellent idea because when we test we would like that everything in sync (match identical) unless some options that you do not want select (example: permissions) from both Source and Destination. Thank you

      • Eric commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        We have this need in our company and this functionality would be greatly appreciated!

      • Jeroen commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        We have the same requirement: we run full migrations to the destination SPO environment and we test the migrated sites, web parts and content. Right before we go live we run an incremental migration but unfortunately the items deleted in the source are not removed in the destination. It would be great if both the object and content migrations get an option to allow us to choose if the deleted items are removed.

      • David Mackay commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        would be extremely useful, especially for managed metadata, quite a limitation without it.

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        It would be extremely useful to have the destination sync with the source system. This would allow us to stage the information from our legacy SharePoint environment and user folders, and then keep o365 in sync until we are ready to go live on the new system. As it currently sits, I will have to do the incremental moves very close to go live and hope my users do not do significant cleanup of files because their data will need to be cleaned again.

      • rpearson commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        We could use this as well, both when migrating from files and folders to a site and also migrating content from one site to another. It would be very useful to have an incremental option and a way to see and act on changes. Features similar to what can be done with the tool WinMerge would be very handy.

        Additionally, allow Move, not just Copy.

        Thanks for a great product!!!

      • Dany Lavertu commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Move documents if they are moved by users on the source site to another Document Library / Site since the last incremental update has run

      • Mathieu Delisle commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Possibility to do an Incremental migration of whole sites or site collections, but only include the content, not the structure.

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Delta/Imcremental migration isn't bringing up the folder level unique permission if there is any change

      ← Previous 1

      Feedback and Knowledge Base