Sync Options in the Migration Tool - Incremental Copy
For example, if a file has been deleted in the source after it had gotten copied over to SharePoint, can it be deleted in SharePoint?
The goal is to re-sync only the updates, additions and deletions without the need to copy the whole thing again. It allows to keep on using the source environment while keeping the destination one sync until we're ready to go live with the new site.
-documents (move them to a different location if the user has moved it since the last update)
As much as we hear your need, this is not currently on our road map. We will revisit it eventually.
Kevin Cowels commented
It would be very good if this can be revisited, as you stated you would in May 2019. It is very laborious to have to compare source and destination, and then go delete anything from the destination that have been deleted from the source.
Most people really do not have the time.
Does ShareGate perform Incremental update from File share to SharePoint? I have been researching but could not find no resource yet.
Hi- trying to figure out why in my incremental copies, why documents in the destination are not being removed when they are removed from the source. It only ever adds new additions, doesnt remove documents. Is this only ever done in a full copy?
Feedback sent from the Tasks view.
I am trying to sync out on prem data with SP Online. I would like that if files are deleted on prem they would be also deleted on SP.
Also I would like to work with wild card and be able to sync the content of a folder with for ex. G:\SHARE\FOLDER\*.* so that I do not regulary check iffolders have been added.
Thansk & Regards
Is there anything planned to give ShareGate a "sync" feature when running an incremental update?
I think what we would find most helpful would be:
1) Remove file from destination if gone from source
2)If file is missing from Destination, don't copy
Feedback sent from the Explorer view.
Would it be possible to add a feature (and option) for incremental migrations?
The feature would be that for incremental migrations if a site / list / document is deleted at the source, it would be deleted at the destination as well.
The use case is for 2-step migrations where content is first pre-seeded, then an incremental migration is run right before the cut-over.
Oftentimes, cleanup will still be done on the source, but the clean up work (deleted files) will not be synced over to the destination. It would be nice to have the option for this to happen.
Understandably, there would some risk in adding the feature because it could remove the only copy of some files.
While in the process of a long migration having sync jobs. Production resyncs to what will be production. Items added, modified, deleted and allows to use the existing env until we are ready to go live with the next.
As one of the earlier users of ShareGate, I agree that the product has certainly matured; and in my opinion, a market leader.
In all of my content migrations, I've always faced one issue that none of the tools seem to address... content removal.
Most migration projects are multi-phased... a trial to see "how bad will it be", some remediation, then the final migration.
During this migration cycle, content is being added and removed from the source site.
All of the migration tools can handle content addition, but not the content removal.
I think a process to "syncronize" the content would be of value.
This would require a different approach, driven by both the source and destination site:
- run though the destination site looking back to the source site
--- if found in the destination and not in the source, remove the content in the destination site
--- if the content in the destination is older than the content in the source, refresh the destination site
- run through the source site looking for new content which does not exist in the destination.
--- if found in the source, copy the content over to the destination site
Same logic should apply to groups and users.
The problem we run into is a migration project which could last months...
We remediate workflows, pages, and master pages to get the new site working properly.
During this time period source content is added, changed and removed.
We don't want to blow away the new destination sites, as we will lose our remediation work.
Manually identifying destination content which should be removed is time consuming and prone to errors.
be able to mix some data from your source, with some data already at the destination and decide which column from the source and which column from the destination to preserve
I would like to be able to "Copy and Replace and Delete". To keep a document library in sync the delete piece really is required. Especially if the overall migration project as a whole spans a long length of time and I have to revisit it and sync it again.
Here is a screenshot --> https://drive.google.com/file/d/1RDl7a0m4s-6yojVY4ZEnHxopL8c58RnI/view?usp=sharing
I could use this as well, having the same issue as below user. I migrated site to the cloud, gave the department about a month to fix/tweak the new site, then did a copy if newer, however, there were files that the department deleted that were no longer needed and I copied them back over with copy if newer feature.
I am working on migration of huge library with 55,000 (i know, Iknow, I tell users to keep things smaller, but they don't listen). So, since ShareGate does not have ability to delete files on destination between copy and 'copy if newer', I'll have to do a full Powershell export/import the day of to make sure my source and destination are exact copy
When I do my Migrations from on-prem to cloud I do the following
1. Create Site and copy all the librarys users specify
2. Have users test new site (few days to a few weeks)
3. Do a "Copy if Newer" on alll Librarys.
The Problem I have run into is that users move and rename files in during the step 2 waiting period. So when I do a "Copy if Newer" I get duplicates.
So an option where I can Sync the Destination to look exactly like the source would be great
Needed as well.
When a project require testing and that testing takes time, we need to perform incremental migration meaning it shall add new documents, update existing documents AND delete documents that has been deleted from the source
le copy-site avec copysettings (soit en incrémental) ne supprime pas les librairies et sous-sites supprimés dans la source. c'est un phénomène attendu ?
Introduce a functionality to automatically periodically migrate files from the same source (i.e. Library) to the same destination. Reason: After the initial migration of the site collection, users will continue using our intranet sites for a couple of weeks before moving to the cloud
I would love this feature! So helpful as we are testing before going live we would be able to do a fresh sync without having to fill the recycle bin at the designation. On large migrations this could fill the database fast.
Vincent T Nguyen commented
This is excellent idea because when we test we would like that everything in sync (match identical) unless some options that you do not want select (example: permissions) from both Source and Destination. Thank you
We have this need in our company and this functionality would be greatly appreciated!
We have the same requirement: we run full migrations to the destination SPO environment and we test the migrated sites, web parts and content. Right before we go live we run an incremental migration but unfortunately the items deleted in the source are not removed in the destination. It would be great if both the object and content migrations get an option to allow us to choose if the deleted items are removed.
David Mackay commented
would be extremely useful, especially for managed metadata, quite a limitation without it.