EJ

My feedback

  1. 148 votes
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Since the default is now disabled. It should prevent most situation some of you are describing.

    We still feel like the Auto-Assign as site collection administrator is a useful option in certain case.

    If you encounter an issue you can always refer to this documentation to fix it. https://support-desktop.sharegate.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000647528-Can-I-remove-myself-as-an-administrator-after-I-have-auto-assigned-myself-as-one-

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    EJ commented  · 

    When following the steps to run a report of all OneDrive sites (per https://support-desktop.sharegate.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000647528-Can-I-remove-myself-as-an-administrator-after-I-have-auto-assigned-myself-as-one), one of the filters is Administrators [contains/does not contain].

    When attempting to enter a filter for "Administrators [contains] user-goes-here", we are unable to resolve a user and even after several hours the dropdown continues to show "[spinning icon] Showing 0 results."

    When entering any type of user login (aaaa@aaaa.com, i:0#.f|membership|user@domain.com, or even a general string value like "admin"), it still spins and says "Showing 0 results." without ever returning any names.

    When selecting names in the following "Remove from Site Collection Administrators" process - there is no issue with returning names. Just when using the Administrators filter on the prior step to generate the report.

    Can this be looked at as a bug?

    We have tens of thousands of OneDrive sites and trying to pull a FULL report and then remove Site Collection Admins from that report can take days between generating the report and then processing through it.

    If there's a Powershell script that you support to do the same thing, please let us know.

    Also - our team seconds the idea of a sub-setting to Auto-Assign as SC Admin, with the ability to ONLY set that for SP sites/Group or Team Sites/OneDrive/etc.

    It's useful - just terrifying if mis-applied. A better description, perhaps with a link to this thread or the remediation steps would be helpful to know what we're getting into before toggling that setting.

    EJ supported this idea  · 

Feedback and Knowledge Base